Board of Trustees

Ruel C. “Merc” Mercure

Interim Chair

Boulder, CO

Cofounder of Ball Brothers Research Corporation the predecessor of Ball Aerospace and Technologies, Inc. Cofounder and CEO of CDM Optics, Inc., purchased by OmniVision Technologies, Inc. Past Director of several publicly traded Companies, including Ball Corporation. Presently a Director of several private companies as well as not-for-profit organizations.

John Kent

Treasurer, Chair of AIP Finance Committee

Carmel, IN

A clinical medical physicist at Methodist Hospital in Indianapolis for more than 38 years, and a diplomate of the American Board of Radiology in Therapeutic Radiological Physics, a Fellow of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine, and a Fellow in Physics of the American College of Radiology. Recipient of the 2009 Gold Medal Award from the Indiana Radiological Society. Has served on the AIP Investment Advisory Committee since 1996.

Sandeep Giri

Mountain View, CA

Google Machine Learning and AI. Career focus on technology development, materials engineering, fundamental analysis of manufacturing viability, and building end-end infrastructure. First-hand experience solving audacious engineering problems in multiple industries and multiple countries, including Project LOON, a network of balloons traveling on the edge of space, delivering connectivity to people in unserved and underserved communities around the world. MS from Stanford University in materials science and engineering; BS from Coe College, physics and mathematics.

Nancy Greenspan

Bethesda, MD

Nancy Thorndike Greenspan was a health economist and in the 1980s began a writing career as the co-author of four books with her husband, the late child psychiatrist Stanley Greenspan. She is the author of two biographies, The End of the Certain World: The Life and Science of Max Born (Basic Books, 2005) and the recently published Atomic Spy: The Dark Lives of Klaus Fuchs (Viking, May 2020). She has served on the boards of numerous environmental organizations and committees and boards of the American Institute of Physics. An ice dancer, she spends her free time at the rink. She lives in Bethesda, Maryland.

Ray Johnson

Oakton, VA

Operating Partner with Bessemer Venture Partners. International business and strategy consultant. Corporate executive with a proven track record of leading large organizations, developing and executing growth strategies, and achieving operational excellence in diverse business environments. Served as the Senior VP and CTO of the Lockheed Martin Corporation for 9 years, COO for Modern Technology Solutions, and executive positions with Science Applications International Corporation, including SVP and GM of the Advanced Concepts Business Unit. Full Academician of the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) and a fellow of the International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE), the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Member of Eta Kappa Nu, Tau Beta Pi, and Phi Kappa Phi. Holds Ph.D. and M.S. degrees in electrical engineering from the Air Force Institute of Technology and a B.S. in electrical engineering from Oklahoma State University.

Michael Moloney

Washington, DC

Ninth CEO of the American Institute of Physics (AIP)—a federation that provides the means for its ten Member Societies to broaden their impact and achieve results beyond their individual missions and mandates, and an independent institute that advances the discipline of the physical sciences. Previously Moloney served as the Director for Space and Aeronautics at the U.S. National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, where he spent more than 15 years working on over 100 reports across a diverse set of scientific, engineering and technical fields. Moloney, originally from Ireland, and spent 7 years as an Irish foreign service officer. He earned his PhD in physics from Trinity College Dublin.